

Honorary Board Members

President Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson HSH Prince Albert II Artur Chilingarov Kuupik Kleist Senator Lisa Murkowski Dr. Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber

Advisory Board Members

Gudmundur Alfredsson Christian Bjelland IV Helgi Björnsson Scott Borgerson Alexander Borodin Patricia A.L. Cochran Dalee Dorough J. Cynan Ellis-Evans Heidar Mar Gudjonsson Thorsteinn Gunnarsson David Hik Edward Itta Jacek Jania Timo Koivurova Karin Lochte

> Joseph Ralston **Carter Roberts** Alice Rogoff **Hugh Short** Catherine Stevens

Scott Minerd

Frederik Paulsen

Amy L. Wiita Huigen Yang

February 14, 2014

<Mr. Name Name> <Title> <ADDRESS LINE ONE> <ADDRESS LINE TWO> <CITY, STATE, ZIP>

Dear <NAME>:

From sea ice melt, energy exploration, environmental protection, and the utilization of natural resources to the Northern Sea Route and the Law of the Sea, the issues facing the Arctic are profound, and affect not just Arctic countries but people around the world.

The most broadly international gathering of its kind, the Arctic Circle aims to advance dialogue and sharpen the world's focus on the rapid changes now taking place in the Arctic. It provides an open forum to hear all sides of the debate, promote discussion and address these challenges in a responsible way.

The enclosed brief gives an overview of the inaugural Arctic Circle Assembly, which was held October 12-14, 2013, in Reykjavík, Iceland, and which attracted more than 1,200 attendees from 40 countries. The Assembly featured speakers such as Artur Chilingarov of Russia, Eric Schmidt of Google and Sam Tan Chin Siong of Singapore as well as Ban Ki-Moon of the United Nations and Hillary Rodham Clinton of the United States.

The Arctic Circle will reconvene September 5-7, 2014, in Reykjavík. We invite interested individuals, organizations and partners to participate. If you have any questions or would like more information, please don't hesitate to contact us directly or the Arctic Circle secretariat at Info@ArcticCircle.org.

Sincerely,

Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson

President of Iceland P: + 354 540 4400 E: president@president.is **Kuupik Kleist**

K. V. Keny

Member of Parliament, Premier of Greenland (2009-2013)

P: + 299 547 858 E: kuupik@inatsisartut.gl Alice Rogoff

Founder, Alaska Dispatch and the Arctic Imperative Summit P: +907 350 6109

E: Alice@ArcticCircle.org